South Africa’s transition to a multi-racial democracy continues to open up new opportunities for both local and international investors. The ‘new’ Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996 (Act 108 of 1996), was signed by President Nelson Mandela in Sharpeville, Gauteng on 10 December 1996 and implemented on 4 February 1997. The Constitution greatly enhances the freedom of the individual.

The Act endorses the supremacy of the constitution over all legislative, executive and judicial organs of state, and provides for a constitutional court of a president and 10 members to enforce its provisions. A national council of provinces was also formally constituted in February 1997, consisting of a chairperson, two deputies, six permanent and four rotating representatives.

In accordance with the Constitution, each of the nine provinces has its own legislature consisting of between 30 and 80 members. The number of members is determined in terms of a formula set out in national legislation. The members are elected in terms of proportional representation.

The Executive Council of a province consists of a Premier and a number of members. The Premier is elected by the Provincial Legislature. The Premier of the North West Province is Hon. Supra OR Mahumapelo.

The North West Province has executive and legislative competence within its region over agriculture, casinos, cultural affairs, education, environment, health services, housing, language policy, local government, nature conservation, police, provincial public media, public transport, regional planning, roads, road traffic regulations, tourism, trade and industrial promotion, traditional authorities, urban and rural development and welfare services.

The North West Province has a monarch, the King of the Bafokeng nation, based in Phokeng, in the Rustenburg region.


The present cabinet is:

  Premier: Hon. SOR Mahumapelo
Bokone Bophirima Premier
Profile: Read profile
Website: //premier.nwpg.gov.za
Facebook: www.facebook.com/otp
  MEC: Hon. Dr. Mpho Motlhabani
Profile: Read profile
Department of Community Safety and   Transport Management
Website: www.nwpg.gov.za/public_safety
  MEC: Hon. Sello Lehari
Profile: Read profile
Department of Education and Sport   Development
Website: www.nwpg.gov.za/education
  MEC: Hon. Wendy Nelson
Profile: Read profile
Department of Finance, Economic and   Enterprice Development
Website: www.treasury.nwpg.gov.za/
  MEC: Hon. Ontlametse Mochware
Profile: Read profile
Department of Culture, Arts and Traditional   Affairs
Website: www.nwpg.gov.za/dcata
   MEC: Hon. Fenny Gaolaolwe
Profile: Read profile
Department of Local Government and   Human Settlements
Website: www.nwpg.gov.za/DDLG&TA
  MEC: Hon. Manketsi Tlhape
Profile: Read profile
Department of Rural, Environment and   Agricultural Development
Website: www.nwpg.gov.za/Agriculture/
  MEC: Hon. Madoda Sambatha
Profile: Read profile
Department of Public Works and Roads
Website: www.nwpg.gov.za/public works
  MEC: Hon. Magome Masike
Profile: Read profile
Department of Health
Website: //health.nwpg.gov.za/dohnw/
  MEC: Hon. Kgakgamatso Nkewu
Profile: Read profile
Department of Social Development
Website: www.nwpg.gov.za/dsdwcpd/
  MEC: Hon. Desbo Mohono
Profile: Read profile
Department of Tourism
Website: www.nwpg.gov.za/Tourism
  Executive Mayor: Cllr. Louis Diremelo
Profile: Read profile
Bojanala Platinum District Municipality
Website: www.bojanala.gov.za
Facebook: www.facebook.com/bojanala
  Executive Mayor: Cllr. Boitumelo Moloi
Profile: Read profile
Dr Kenneth Kaunda District Municipality
Website: www.kaundadistrict.gov.za
Facebook: Dr Kenneth Kaunda District
  Executive Mayor: Cllr. Elvis Tladinyane
Profile: Read profile
Dr Ruth Segomotsi Mompati District   Municipality
Website: www.drrsmompatidm.gov.za
  Executive Mayor: Cllr T.J Makolomakwe
Profile: Read profile
Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality
Website: www.nmmdm.gov.za


Source: http://www.nwpg.gov.za/Cabinet.htm


...powerD by 3rdEFX
Translate »